New Zealand vs Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan, finally provide Visitors a Victory In 3rd T20I

New Zealand vs Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan, finally provide Visitors a Victory In 3rd T20I

New Zealand vs Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan, finally provide Visitors a Victory In 3rd T20I

New Zealand: New test captain Mohammad Rizwan showed his leadership quality during a bold inning of 89 which steered Pakistan to a four-wicket convert New Zealand within the third Twenty20 on Tuesday. Rizwan will lead Pakistan within the two-match test series against New Zealand starting on Sunday in situ of Babar Azam, who is injured. In Azam’s absence, he also opened the batting altogether three T20s, making 17 in Auckland and 22 in Hamilton before achieving a maiden half-century and career-best 89 from 59 balls on Tuesday. Rizwan beat his previous better of 33 not out. With Rizwan’s leadership, Pakistan chased New Zealand’s moderate total of 173-7 with two balls remaining.

Rizwan batted his team accessible of victory when he was called at the ultimate over at 171-6. Pakistan still needed three runs to win with four balls left. Iftikhar Ahmed took his team to win when he hoisted the fourth ball of the last over out of the bottom for 6, lifting Pakistan to 177-6. New Zealand had already secured the series but Pakistan’s win at McLean Park sends it into the test series during a far more positive frame of mind.

Pakistan won the add all three matches, batting first within the first two. A change of tactics on Tuesday to bowl first on a difficult pitch proved successful. Rizwan placed on 40 for the primary wicket with Haider Ali (11), then 72 during a match-winning partnership with Mohammad Hafeez. Coming off his unbeaten 99 within the second T20, Hafeez made 41 from 29 balls with two fours and three sixes. When he was out, Hafeez was just 12 runs in need of equaling Shoaib Malik’s record of two,335 runs for Pakistan in T20s. Pakistan had nervous moments near the top of the innings, especially when Tim Southee dismissed Faheem Ashraf and Shadab Khan with consecutive deliveries with the entire 163. Iftikhar survived the score ball and struck the winning runs an over later. 

New Zealand’s innings progressed in fits and starts. While partnerships were created, few endured. The pitch was two-paced and therefore the slower ball or cross-seamer was especially effective against batsmen trying to settle in. Martin Guptill and Tim Seifert both gain good starts and looked strong during a 40-run partnership for the primary wicket but both were out afterward. Guptill, again, was unable to create on a solid beginning, making 19 from 16 balls before being caught by Shadab at mid-off from the bowling of Haris Rauf within the fifth over.

Captain Kane Williamson, who made an unbeaten half-century within the second T20 on Sunday – returning to the New Zealand team after the birth of his first child – lasted only four balls before he was bowled by Faheem for 1. Williamson tried to chop a ball that was too on the brink of him and chopped the ball onto his stumps. Following 57 and an unbeaten 84, Seifert was on 35 and assured, having hit two fours and three sixes, when he pushed forward too hard at Ashraf and was bowled by a ball that ducked back through the gate.

Devon Conway added 63 to steer the rest of the innings. New Zealand was 58-3 within the eighth over when Seifert was out and Conway made 51 with Glenn Phillips (31) for the fourth wicket to build the innings a stronger foundation.

New Zealand (NZ) Scorecard

Batsman R B 4s 6s

Martin Guptill (c Shadab Khan b Haris Rauf)

19 16 2 1

Tim Seifert (W) (b Faheem Ashraf)

35 20 2 3

Kane Williamson (C) (b Faheem Ashraf)

1 4 0 0

Devon Conway (c Shadab Khan b Haris Rauf)

63 45 7 1

Glenn Phillips (c Haris Rauf b Shaheen Afridi)

31 20 4 0

James Neesham (c Shadab Khan b Faheem Ashraf)

2 4 0 0

Scott Kuggeleijn (c Iftikhar Ahmed b Shaheen Afridi)

14 6 1 1

Tim Southee

6 6 0 0

Kyle Jamieson

0 0 0 0

Extras: 2

New Zeland: 173/6 (over: 20)

Bowling 0 M R W

Shaheen Afridi

4 0 43 2

Mohammad Hasnain

4 0 29 0

Haris Rauf

4 0 44 2

Faheem Ashraf

4 0 20 3

Shadab Khan

4 0 36 0

Pakistan (PAK) Scorecard

Batsman R B 4s 6s

Mohammad Rizwan (W) (c Devon Conway b Kyle Jamieson)

89 59 10 3

Haider Ali (c sub Daryl Mitchell b Scott Kuggeleijn)

11 9 1 0

Mohammad Hafeez (c sub Daryl Mitchell b Scott Kuggeleijn)

41 29 2 3

Khushdil Shah (c sub Daryl Mitchell b James Neesham)

13 10 2 0

Faheem Ashraf (c Tim Seifert b Tim Southee)

2 3 0 0

Shadab Khan (C) (c Tim Seifert b Tim Southee)

0 1 0 0

Iftikhar Ahmed

14 7 1 1

Hussain Talat

0 0 0 0

Extras: 7

Pakistan: 177/6(19.4)

Bowling 0 M R W

Trent Boult

4 0 43 0

Tim Southee

4 0 25 2

Kyle Jamieson

2.4 0 22 1

Scott Kuggeleijn

4 0 40 2

Ish Sodhi

1 0 6 0

James Neesham

4 0 37 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *